EuroVelo

EuroVelo 12 - North Sea Cycle Route - part United Kingdom 9

EuroVelo 12 - North Sea Cycle Route - part United Kingdom 9 is an OSM and official EuroVelo matched cycling-route record. Distances from each geometry source are kept separate.

What the record says

Route type
Icn
Network
EuroVelo
Operator
Not stated
Operational state
Partially Developed + Not Signed
Start
John o' Groats (SCT)/Burwick (ORK)
Finish
Stromness (ORK)
Ascent
Not stated
Duration
Not stated
Not a safety or access guarantee

This page does not score safety or predict current conditions. Confirm legal access, closures, surfaces, traffic, weather and your own capability before riding.

Trip-data checklist

What is matched around this route

Coverage and missing layers →
StayNo public matchRestricted accommodation feeds are excluded.
RefuelNo public matchOpening and drinking-water availability need direct checks.
RepairNo public matchCategory evidence does not guarantee workshop services.
Rail & accessNo route-level matchBike-share remains a system directory, not live availability.
Road evidenceRepresentative-point contextNever converted into a route risk or safety score.
Water & biodiversityNo governed matchEcology coordinates do not prove access or drinking water.

Place and water records are joined to the mapped route geometry. Weather by date, route elevation, events, beaches and live bike-share are shown only after their geographic coverage passes the published readiness gate.

Historical road evidence

Context near this route record’s map point

Read the UK methodology →
Representative point only

These figures describe a fixed area around one mapped coordinate. They do not measure the full route and they do not become a safety score.

Reported cycle-involved collisions

0 final-2024 collision records involving at least one pedal cycle fall within 5 km straight-line of the representative coordinate.

No matching record in this radius does not mean the route is safe or incident-free.

Nearest latest-year traffic count point

A964 is about 6.6 km straight-line from the route coordinate.

Traffic year
2025
Pedal cycles AADF
9
Motor vehicles AADF
1,375
Point context, not whole-route conditions

Most held UK route geometries are representative points rather than complete ride lines. The collision radius and nearest traffic counter may cover different roads from the route itself. AADF is an estimated annual daily flow, not live traffic; these figures never produce a safe/unsafe label.

Sources: Department for Transport STATS19 final 2024 collisions and 2025 annual average daily flow records. Projection checked 2026-09-12.

Provenance

OpenStreetMap planet

OpenStreetMap contributors

Licence
Open Data Commons Open Database License 1.0 ↗
Source record
Open authoritative context ↗
Source update/effective date
2026-05-18
Catalogue retrieval
2026-07-24
Entity last observed
2026-07-24

Keep exploring

More routes in United Kingdom

Browse the country collection